The Department Chair, Dr. Weihong Guo, faculty and staff would like to congratulate the 22-23 Academic Year High Honor recipients for MAMS. The student award winners all demonstrated service, leadership and scholarship. The students were celebrated in 2 ceremonies and presented certificates and prize money.

On Friday, April 28, 2023, the university hosted the Academic Awards Assembly for continuing students at Amasa Stone Chapel. On Saturday, May 20, 2023, the Senior Academic Awards Assembly was held at Maltz Performing Arts Center. The students listed below received honors in the following categories.

The Chair’s Award (to students contributing to the intellectual life of the majors’ program)

Dagny McCann

Jonathan Chandle Willcutt

Levent Batakci *


The Lajos F. Takács Mathematics Prize (for academic excellence, research, and leadership)

Jeffrey Wang

Jack Michael Solomon

Sam Thomas Reeder

Patrick Cavanaugh

Grace Evans-Golden


The Max Morris Prize (for excellence in mathematics to a student pursuing the Bachelor of Science)

Levent Batakci*

Param Mohapatra

Dora Shlosberg

Julia Silverstein


The Webster Godman Simon Mathematics Award (to students pursuing a Bachelor of Arts degree, for excellence in mathematics)

Brooke Hathhorn

Beckett Michael Pierce

Zeo Anje Vogt


Special recognition to Levent Batakci, the department’s only dual award winner. Congratulations to all MAMS awards recipients, and much success to our seniors in their future endeavors.

Thank you all for a successful and exciting learning year.